Rohr drops Moses, lists Onyekuru, Iwobi Iheanacho for South Africa tie

(Last Updated On: )

Adeboye Amosu

Chelsea wing-back Victor Moses has been dropped by Nigeria from the list of players that will face South Africa in a 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier on June 10 in Uyo, reports

Moses who enjoyed a stellar campaign with the Blues who won the English Premier League title in the recently concluded season is biggest name omitted from the squad by handler of the side, Gernot Rohr.

China-based attacking duo, Odion Ighalo and Brown Ideye also failed to make the cut with Rohr opting for young forwards, Kelechi Iheanacho, Henry Onyekuru and Kayode Olanrewaju.

There is also no place for skipper of the side, John Obi Mikel and first choice goalkeeper, Carl Ikeme who are both nursing injuries.

Little known Zamalek midfielder, Moruf Yusuf earns his first call-up to the team with home-based duo of Stephen Odey and Sikiru Olatunbosun failing to make the cut.

List of invited players
Daniel Akpeyi
Ikechukwu Ezenwa
Dele Alampasu

Elderson Echiejile
William Ekong
Chidozie Awaziem
Tyronne Ebuehi
Kenneth Omeruo
Maroon Youssef
Abdullahi Shehu

Ogenyi Onazi
Wilfred Ndidi
Mikel Agu
John Ogu
Oghenekaro Etebo
Alhassan Ibrahim

Ahmed MUSA
Kelechi Iheanacho
Olanrewaju Kayode
Henry Onyekuru
Alex Iwobi
Victor Osimhen
Moses Simon

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Ad 2


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.