APC Candidate Wins Plateau Bye-election

(Last Updated On: )

Olumide Lawal

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Jackson Nimmwang, winner of Langtang South State Constituency bye-election in Plateau State.

The INEC Returning Officer, Prof. Tor Iorapuu, who announced the result of the bye-election in Mabodi, disclosed that Nimmwang polled 3,688 votes to beat his counterpart form Mega Progressives Peoples Party (MPPP), Rinsmicit Emmanuel, who scored only 83 votes.

Iorapuu said that the turnout during the election was very low as only 13 per cent of the 48,615 registered voters participated in the election held in 68 polling units.

He, however, described the election as very free and fair, just as he added that 6,571 of the 6,631 accredited voters voted during the election.

The bye-election was sequel to a Federal High Court judgement which invalidated the victory of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Vincent Bulus in the April 14, 2015 elections after it was proved that he was an ex-convict.

Only APC and MPPP vied for the seat since the PDP and its candidate were disqualified.

A total of 400 trained ad-hoc staff, drawn from National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) and tertiary institutions , conducted the election, supervised by the FCT Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC), Jacob Jatau.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Ad 2


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.