Tinubu: PDP will win nothing in Lagos council polls

APC Leader, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu
APC Leader, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu
(Last Updated On: )



All Progressives Congress (APC) leader, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu has predicted an abysmal showing for the Peoples Democratic Party in the 22 July council polls in Lagos state.

He said the PDP will win nothing sating that his party is assured of sweeping the entire 57 local council because Governor Akinwunmi Ambode had lived up to expectation.

According to him, t the people at the grassroots were anticipating the reenactment of the superlative performance across the 20 local governments and 37 local council development areas.

He said if performance and purposeful leadership were the criteria for voting, the electorate would vote for the APC chairmanship and councillorship candidates as they voted for Ambode two years ago.

Tinubu pleaded with members to accept the decision of the party to give automatic tickets to 18 former chairmen in recognition of their loyalty, commitment and efforts and the decision that the sole administrators who took over from the Executive Secretaries (ES) should not contest election.

The former Lagos State governor spoke on preparations for the elections at the enlarged meeting of APC stakeholders held at the party secretariat. Acme Road, Ogba. It was attended by Governor Ambode, party elders, apex leaders, party officers, legislators, members of the State Executive Council, grassroots leaders, aspirants and their supporters.

Lagos APC Chairman Oladele Ajomale inaugurated a seven-man Lagos APC Local Government Appeal Committee headed by former Deputy Governor Olufemi Pedro.

Other members of the committee are the APC Assistant legal Adviser, Mrs. Toke Benson (secretary), former Secretary to Government Princess Adenrele Ogunsanya, Prof. Aderibigbe, Idris Thany, a lawyer, Mr. Femi Laoye and Dr. Solomon Aina, a former council chairman.

Also, a five-man State Electoral Committee headed by Senator Tokunbo Afikuyomi was set up to conduct a credible primary. Other members of the committee are Senior Special Assistant to Ambode on Political Affairs Adekunle Olayinka (secretary), Otunba Alabi Macfoy, Hon. Hakeem Sulaimon Oris, Alhaja Sade Abiola-Agbalajobi and Mr. Tayo Alabi.

Ajomale urged the members of the two committees to be above board in the discharge of their assignments, adding that eyes would be on them before and during the exercise.

Ambode enjoined party faithful to work round the clock to ensure victory at the poll, adding that the state can only make steady progress, if the party controls the local governments.

He attributed his victory in the 2015 poll to the dedication of party members and leaders, especially Tinubu, urging the party faithful not to relent in their quest for electoral victory.

Ambode said: “Almost exactly two years after, we have cause to thank God. I am able to look back that the confidence you give me two years ago and all of you working together to make sure I defeated the PDP candidate was no small feat.

“I have come here, not only to attend this meeting, but to say a big thank you to all of you. I want to thank you for being the first set of people that believed in me and thereafter, God has been so gracious. He has not allowed me to disappoint you. I want to say a big thank you to Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, the state APC chairman and Exco members for supporting that cause.

At the meeting were Deputy Governor Idiat Adebule, House of Assembly Speaker Obasa, House of Representatives Majority Leader Femi Gbajabiamila, former university don Prof. Tunde Samuel, APC Vice Chairman Chief Funso Ologunde and former Information and Strategy Commissioner Mr. Dele Alake. NAN

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Ad 2


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.