Three scientists share 2016 Nobel Prize in Physics

Ad 3
(Last Updated On: 2016-10-05)

Nahimat Adekoga with agency report

The Royal Academy of Sciences has announced that the 2016 Nobel Prize in Physics is being shared by three scientists.

The announcement which was made on Tuesday in Stockholm also revealed that the prize amount is $0.93 million and would be split proportionally between the three winners.

The Academy explained that the Nobel Prize in Physics 2016 was divided, with one half awarded to David J. Thouless, the other half jointly to F. Duncan M. Haldane and J. Michael Kosterlitz “for theoretical discoveries of topological phase transitions and topological phases of matter”.

The trio British-born researchers working in the U.S. won the Nobel Prize in physics for what one of them called a curious mathematical “toy” that to his surprise revolutionized the study of exotic matter suitable for quantum computers, new superconductors, and advanced designer materials.

One of the winners, Haldane, said he was “very surprised” at the news. He added that he was glad that their discoveries found something many previously overlooked and that they unveiled more possibilities for looking for new materials.

Haldane emphasised that series of works are still on-going.  

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Ad 1

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Ad 2


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.