NTF Selects 14 Players for Taekwondo Championship in Korea

(Last Updated On: )


Abiodun Jimoh

The Nigeria Taekwondo Federation (NTF) has selected 14 players for the 2017 World Championship that willhold from June 24 to 30 in Muju, in Korea.

A statement signed by Taiwo Oriss, Secretary-General of the federation, said the athletes were selected at the end of the three-day trials in Abuja.

Oriss said the federation was sure that the athletes, with adequate preparations, would return Nigeria to the world medal table at the event.

“You may recall that Nigeria last picked a medal at the world championship 25 years ago when Emmanuel Peters from Delta State won bronze,” he said.

According to Oriss, the athletes have showed determination during the trials and vowed to improve on the past record if given the opportunity.

“We believe with the support of all and with the right motivation, our taekwondo athletes will do the nation proud,” he said.

He listed the names of the athletes to include: Josephine Esuku, Sekinat Adebisi, Folake Abdullahi, Vivian Ndu, Juliet Dennis, Chisomu Ndima and Maryjane Ofuadinma for the females.

The males in the team are, Muhammed Ghali, Abubakar Adamu, Nduka Edwin, Aburime Santos, Segun Olushola, Henry Nxelu and Sunday Onofe.


How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Ad 2


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.