Ifeanyi Ubah win 2016 Federation Cup

Ad 3
(Last Updated On: 2016-11-07)

Abiodun Jimoh


Ifeanyi Ubah, yesterday emerged the winners of the 2016 men’s Federation Cup competition after a 5-4 penalty shoot –out defeat of Nasarawa United at the Teslim Balogun Stadium, Lagos.

Both teams battled to a 0-0 draw in regulation time at the finale watched by Nasarawa State Governor Umar Tanko Al-Makura, Sports Minister Solomon Dalung, Chairman of the Lagos State Sports Commission, Deji Tinubu and the Executive Committee and Management of Nigeria Football Federation led by the president, Mr. Amaju Melvin.

In the shootout, Seun Sogbeso, whose goal from the penalty spot steered Nasarawa United to the final at the expense of Enyimba FC in Ibadan, saw his tame kick saved by Anambra Warriors’ goalkeeper Uche Okafor to hand the trophy to the boys from Nnewi.

In the women’s final, Rafiat Sule put Bayelsa Queens ahead but Rivers Angels equalized through a well –taken free kick by Osinachi Ohale.

The Angels won the shoot –out 5-3 to emerge champions. Deputy Governor of Nasarawa State, Hon. Silas Agara, his Rivers State counterpart Hon. Boma Iyaye and Super Eagles’ Technical Adviser Gernot Rohr were also among the dignitaries that watched Sunday’s showpiece.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Ad 1

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Ad 2


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.