First Deepwater Group Chair Bags FUTA’s Entrepreneurship, Leadership Excellence Award

First Deepwater Group Chair Bags FUTA’s Entrepreneurship, Leadership Excellence Award
First Deepwater Group Chair Bags FUTA’s Entrepreneurship, Leadership Excellence Award
(Last Updated On: 2017-04-26)




The Federal University of Technology Akure (FUTA) has awarded the Chairman of First Deepwater Group, Engr. Babalola Babatunde the Entrepreneurship and Leadership Excellence Award.

The award which was presented to him by the Lagos chapter of school at its annual alumni luncheon and awards ceremony held in Lagos was in recognition of his philanthropic gesture.

Babatunde who is an alumnus of the institution stated that FUTA alumni must consider it significant by investing their resources and time in the development of the institution as a way of giving back to the school that produced them.

He enjoined alumni of various citadels of learning to invest heavily in the educational development of their alma mater to help resuscitate the dwindling fortune of education in Nigeria.

The business tycoon who lamented the state of tertiary education in Nigeria, said though other well-meaning alumni were doing their best to take the school to greater heights, more still needs to be done to provide a conducive environment for learning.

While commending the Vice chancellor and the management team for the giant strides recorded in the last few years both in learning and provision of infrastructure facilities, he tasked both the alumni and other stakeholders to continue to work together in the overall interest of development saying that the institution remains the best among other Nigerian universities, a testimonial that is clearly evident in the performance of its students in both private and public life.

According to him, the school cannot afford to go backward at this time and as such would require all the support it can get to play in the big league of great institutions of learning not only in Africa but globally.

Babatunde who acknowledged government’s effort in repositioning the institution since its creation said it was obvious that government support cannot do it alone stressing that both the alumni and other kind-hearted Nigerians alumni must lend their support stating that their contribution remains vital to advancement of learning in Nigeria.

Other awardees at the invent includes the Vice Chancellor of the University, Professor Adebiyi Daramola, former Registrar of the University, Mrs.Eunice Oyebade, Mr Akin Aina, Mr. Shebioba Babatunde, among others.

He said” I think I cannot quantify my passage in FUTA has done in my life. So, I think it is expedient I replicate in good measure what the school has been able to do in my life”.

A senior official of the institution, Professor Adebayo Aborishade said” He deserves all the recognition he can get because he has his footprints all over the campus”.

Responding on behalf of the school, the Vice chancellor of the institution, Professor Adebiyi Daramola thanked the alumni for recognizing the management’s effort in taking the school to greater height saying that the institution remains willing and available for more support from the alumni.


How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Ad 2


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.