Danbatta, Adenuga, Ovia, Others Nominated For TT Person of The Year 2016

Ad 3
(Last Updated On: 2016-11-30)

Nahimah Ajikanle Nurudeen

Six nominees have been named for the Technology Times Person of the Year 2016, which honours the person that has made the most enduring contribution to the information and communication technology industry (ICT) in Nigeria.

The maiden edition of Technology Times Person of The Year 2016 seeks to honour the person that has made the most impactful, meaningful and enduring contribution to ICT in Nigeria, and the final honouree will be decided through complementary decision of Technology Times Editors (40%) and online voting (60%) by the Internet community on the official website of the company,www.technologytimes.ng.

The online voting to allow the Internet community choose the final honouree for the Technology Times Person of The Year 2016 opens Tuesday November 28, 2016 and closes by 23.59pm (Nigerian time) on Saturday December 31, 2016.

Announcing the nominations in Lagos today, Mr Shina Badaru, Founder/CEO, Technology Times Media Limited, publishers of the Technology Times titles and organisers of Technology Times Person of The Year 2016, says that the nominees have been selected through a diligent process for their distinctive contributions to ICT in Nigeria.

“Technology has fundamentally changed the way we live, work and play. We are pleased to announce that our nominees are men and women that have through their talent, treasure or time or a combination of these investments helped to make our world a better place”, according to Badaru.

According to him, the Technology Times Editors approved the nominations of six distinguished Nigerians for Technology Times Person of the Year 2016 including Dr Mike  Adenuga, Chairman Globacom Limited; Professor Umar Garba Danbatta, Chief Executive/Executive Vice Chairman, Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC); Dr Leo Stan Ekeh, Chairman Zinox Technologies; Dr Omobola Johnson, Pioneer Minister of Communication Technology for Nigeria; Ms Funke Opeke, Chief Executive Officer, MainOne and Mr Jim Ovia, Pioneer Chairman, Visafone Communications Limited.

Commenting on the next phase of the process, Badaru says that “we are also pleased to foster an inclusive and transparent process to select the final honouree as millions of Technology Times readers across Nigeria, Africa and beyond will now vote to decide who they believe has made the most enduring contributions to ICT growth in Nigeria, following the opening of voting on the official online hub, www.technologytimes.ng.”

According to him, “for the first time since the establishment of Technology Times in 2004, our Editors and readers shall select one industry leader in the Nigeria ICT industry to be honoured with our most prestigious award: Technology Times Person of The Year 2016.”

Candidates for Technology Times Person of The Year 2016, “will be chosen and judged based on profound, meaningful and impactful contributions to the Nigerian ICT markets, technologies, business practices, CSR, services innovations or any combination of these values.”

The February 2017 issue of Technology Times iSpace Magazine will feature the honouree on its cover and announce the Technology Times Person of The Year 2016 as the most outstanding ICT industry executive of the year in Nigeria.

Ad 1

This shall be followed by a special celebration and ceremony at Technology Times Outlook 2017 Dinner to be held Friday, February 10 at Victoria Island, Lagos, Nigeria.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Ad 2


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.