Baxter names squad for Eagles clash

(Last Updated On: )


Adeboye Amosu


New Bafana Bafana head coach Stuart Baxter has named his 25-man squad to face Nigeria in the opening match of the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers.

The clash takes place on Saturday, 10 June 2017 at Godswill Akpabio International

Stadium in Uyo, Akwa Ibom State, Nigeria.

Baxter has kept a good number of players that did duty against Guinea-Bissau and Angola in back-to-back friendly international matches in March.

Goalkeeper Ronwen Williams, Bongani Zungu and Tokelo Rantie make a welcome return to the national team.

Aubrey Ngoma of Cape Town City has also been called up.

“I am quite pleased with the squad we have assembled. We have a small element of

development with a couple of young players. We also have some players who are returning to the squad, the likes of Zungu and Rantie.

“We have players who have been outstanding in the PSL the whole season, we also have continuity with a number of players that SAFA has invested much time in and we have them in the team. I believe we have a good mix,” said Baxter.

“We have also looked at aerial strength and tried to spread that well throughout the team, it means if we can have good preparation before we go, then we have a squad that is capable of giving Nigeria a

good game,” said Baxter.

South Africa has met Nigeria 12 times, with the West Africans emerging victorious on seven occasions with four matches drawn.

Bafana Bafana’s only win against the Super Eagles came under the reign of Baxter – it

was an international friendly match in 2004 played at Ellis Park. Shaun Bartlett and Benedict Vilakazi scored the goals.

“When you look at Nigeria it’s like the who’s who of African football as most of their players play across the top leagues of the world, that doesn’t always mean it’s a good team but Nigeria has had a run of

games that suggests that they are finding their feet.


“We will play them having spent a three- week training camp in France but we will monitor their games. They will be playing against Togo and Corsica, and I will have a bit of intelligence on them, but I have

already gathered some even before these matches,” added Baxter.

Baxer’s men assemble for camp on Sunday, 4 June 2017.

There will be two training sessions on Monday and Tuesday, before the team jets off on Wednesday, 7 June to Uyo State via Lagos.

Bafana Bafana are expected back in the country on Monday, 12 June.



  1. Itumeleng Khune Kaizer Chief FC (SA)
  2. Darren Keet Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
  3. Ronwen Williams Supersport United FC (SA)


  1. Ramahlwe Mphahlele Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
  2. Rivaldo Coetzee Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)
  3. Thulani Hlatshwayo Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
  4. Erick Matholo Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
  5. Lorenzo Gordinho Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
  6. Abbubaker Mobaro Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
  7. Tebogo Langerman Mamelodi Sundowns FC
  8. Sifiso Hlanti Bidvest Wits FC (SA)


  1. Hlompho Kekana Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
  2. Keagan Dolly Montpellier (France)
  3. Andle Jali KV Oostende FC (SA)
  4. Kamohelo Mokotjo FC Twente FC (Netherlands)
  5. Dean Furman Supersport United FC (SA)
  6. Themba Zwane Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
  7. Bongani Zungu Vitoria Guimares (Portugal)
  8. Aubrey Ngoma Cape Town City FC (SA)



  1. Sibusiso Vilakazi Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
  2. Percy Tau Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
  3. Lebohang Manyama Cape Town City FC (SA)
  4. Tokelo Rantie Genclerbirligi FC (Turkey)
  5. Thamsanqa Gabuza Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
  6. Kermit Erasmus Lens (France)

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Ad 2


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.