FIFA ratifies nine African World Cup places

(Last Updated On: )

The FIFA Council has ratified the decision to give Africa nine automatic places when the World Cup expands to 48 teams in 2026.

The move was confirmed on Wednesday in Bahrain.

The continent currently has five spots at the tournament.

A tenth African country will take part in a six-nation play-off tournament to decide the last two spots.

The Bureau of the Fifa Council made the original
proposal of how it planned to allocate the 48 places on 30 March.
The expanded World Cup will feature 16 teams from Europe.
Fifa members voted in January to expand the World Cup from 32 to 48 teams, starting with the 2026 edition.
Asia: 8 direct slots – increased from 4.5
(currently 46 members)
Africa: 9 direct slots – increased from 5
(currently 54 members)
North and central America: 6 direct slots –
increased from 3.5 (currently 34 members)
South America: 6 direct slots – increased from
4.5 (currently 10 members)
Oceania: 1 direct slot – increased from 0.5
(currently 11 members)
Europe: 16 direct slots – increased from 13
(currently 55 members)
Finaltwo places in 2026 decided by six-team
NB: Currently teams from Asia, north and central
America, South America and Oceania play-off for
two places hence .5 spots above.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Ad 2


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.